DTI News

May 18, 2024
English हिन्दी

Bihar By Election: Polling being for Kurhani seat, voters came out to vote amid heavy fog

MUZAFFARPUR: Voting being on today for the by-election in Kudhani assembly seat of Muzaffarpur. Voters are reaching the booths from seven in the morning amidst the cold, although the voting process will continue till six in the evening. More than three lakh voters will decide the fate of a total of 13 candidates between the Grand Alliance and the BJP.

A total of 320 polling stations have been set up for voting. Total female voters – 146507 and male voters – 164474. Others- There are 06 voters. Service voters – 741. With this the total number of voters is – 311728.

Paramilitary forces have been deployed at all booths for peaceful and fair polling. Strict orders have been given against the trouble makers.

For any information or complaint, you can contact the control room number 0621-2246002, 0621-2212497. The counting of votes will take place on December 8.

Complete preparations have been made by the district administration regarding the by-elections. The district administration has informed that none of the vehicles mentioned above will be used to transport and bring voters to the polling stations to cast their votes. In case of violation of these provisions, the vehicle will be seized and action will be taken against them under the relevant sections.

These 13 candidates are in the fray

The names of 13 candidates have been finalized in the Kurhani assembly by-election. BJP’s Kedar Prasad Gupta, JDU candidate Manoj Kushwaha from Grand Alliance, Nilabh Kumar from VIP, Mohd from AIMIM. Ghulam Murtaza, Upendra Shah, Kalikant Jha, Sanjay Thakur, Sukhdev Prasad, Alok Kumar, Dinesh Rai, Vinod Kumar, Shekhar Sahni and Sanjay Kumar.

64 Booth Naxal Affected

40 percent additional EVMs and VVPATs have been arranged. Voting is going on from 7 am. During this, strict arrangements have been made in the area. In Kudhani assembly, 64 booths have been declared Naxal affected.

Bihar, Latest News Tags:,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.