DTI News

April 13, 2024
English हिन्दी

By-elections to 7 assembly constituencies in 6 states including Bihar on Nov 3, results on November 6, Check schedule

Two seats are in Bihar, while one each in Maharashtra, Haryana, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and Odisha. The counting of votes will be held on November 6.

Patna. The dates for the assembly by-elections to be held in Bihar have been announced. By-elections are to be held on Mokama and Gopalganj seats in Bihar. The Election Commission has announced the dates for the by-elections.

According to the notification issued by the Election Commission, By-elections for seven assembly constituencies in six states will be held on November 3, followed by counting of votes three days later on November 6.

Of the seats for which by-polls will be held, two are in Bihar (Mokama, Gopalganj), and one each in Maharashtra (Andheri East), Haryana (Adampur), Telangana (Munugode), Uttar Pradesh (Gola Gokrannath), and Odisha (Dhamnagar).

The exercise was necessitated due to vacancy on each seat. Anant Kumar Singh of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), the-then MLA from Mokama, was disqualified in July after his conviction in a case, while BJP’s Subhash Singh, who held the Gopalganj seat, passed away in August.

The notification for the by-election will be issued on October 7 while the last date for nomination has been kept on October 14. October 17 has been fixed as the last date for withdrawal of nominations for the by-elections.

Bihar, Big Stories, Top Tags:, ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.