DTI News

May 20, 2024
English हिन्दी

ICC Men’s T20I team of year 2022 revealed, Virat Kohli including these Indian players made it to playing XI

ICC Men’s T20I: The ICC has made a team of 11 players who have performed brilliantly this year. Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya have been included in the team from India.

Here, we take a look at 11 players who make the cut in the shortest format of the game for men’s cricket.

The ICC team is as follows:

1. Jos Buttler (c, wk) (England)

Jos Buttler had an incredible year, both as a player and captain. In 15 matches, Buttler accumulated 462 runs at an explosive strike rate of 160.41, often batting oppositions out of the game in the opening exchanges.

2. Mohammad Rizwan (Pakistan)

Mohammad Rizwan continued his form from 2021 into 2022, amassing 996 runs in the year, second only to India dynamo Suryakumar Yadav on the list for most Men’s T20I runs.

Rizwan smashed 10 half-centuries for the year in the shortest format and finished as the joint-highest scorer for Pakistan at the T20 World Cup with 175 runs. Enhancing his reputation as a high-quality anchor at the top, Rizwan holds on to the opening slot alongside Buttler in the ICC T20I Team of the Year for the second year in a row.

3. Virat Kohli (India)

2022 was the year Virat Kohli once again showed glimpses of Virat Kohli of old. He took the Asia Cup by storm, finishing as the second-highest run-getter with 276 runs in five games. He also brought an end to his century drought of close to three years with a magnificent century against Afghanistan.

4. Suryakumar Yadav (India)

Suryakumar Yadav had a sensational 2022 in T20Is, becoming just the second batter to score more than 1000 runs in a calendar year in the format. He ended the year as the highest run-getter, scoring 1164, including two hundreds and nine half-centuries while striking at a stunning 187.43,

5. Glenn Phillips (New Zealand)

Batting, bowling, fielding – there’s nothing Glenn Phillips can’t do on the cricket field. The 26-year-old displayed remarkable consistency once again in the shortest format, aggregating 716 runs in 21 matches at a strike rate of 156.33.

6. Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe)

Sikandar Raza had a stellar year with the bat and also contributed significantly with the ball in T20Is. He was at the centre of all things good that happened for Zimbabwe Cricket during the year, with the all-rounder putting in one brilliant performance after another in the shortest format.

7. Hardik Pandya (India)

In 2022, Hardik Pandya came into his own as the all-rounder India have wanted him to be, contributing heavily both with the bat and the ball. He enjoyed his best year by numbers in the Indian colours, scoring 607 runs while also picking up 20 wickets.

8. Sam Curran (England)

The Player of the Tournament at the 2022 T20 World Cup, Sam Curran added another dimension to his bowling by becoming a solid death-overs specialist in England’s title-winning campaign. He stepped up in the absence of several key bowlers, picking up 13 wickets from six matches.

9. Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka)

Wanindu Hasaranga continued to be Sri Lanka’s talisman in a year where they reigned supreme as the champions of the Asia Cup. He picked up nine crucial wickets in six games at the Asia Cup but at the same time, showed that he can do the damage with the bat, stroking a brilliant 27-ball 37 in the final against Pakistan to rescue his side.

10. Haris Rauf (Pakistan)

Pakistan enjoyed a great 2022 as a team – making it to the final of the Asia Cup and later the semi-final of the T20 World Cup – and Haris Rauf was a crucial figure in both of those campaigns. In the calendar year, no Pakistan bowler picked up more wickets than the right-armer (31).

Rauf impressed everybody with his raw pace and often left batters clueless. In the absence of Shaheen Afridi during the latter half of the year, Pakistan relied heavily on Rauf to lead the bowling attack

11. Josh Little (Ireland)

The second-highest wicket-taker in the calendar year, Josh Little spearheaded Ireland’s attack in 2022 with a great pedigree. The left-arm pacer was a menace with the ball, taking 39 wickets during the calendar year, 11 of which came at the T20 World Cup.

Big Stories, Sports Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.