DTI News

May 23, 2024
English हिन्दी

“ICC ODI World Cup 2023 Thriller: New Zealand and Afghanistan set to lock horns in highly anticipated encounter”

New Delhi: The ICC ODI World Cup 2023 is heating up as the 16th match approaches, pitting New Zealand against Afghanistan on October 18 at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Both teams are riding high on victories from their previous matches, setting the stage for an exciting clash.

Afghanistan’s recent 69-run upset over the reigning champions, England, has sent shockwaves through the tournament. With their confidence soaring, they now face a formidable opponent in New Zealand, who has been on a winning streak, securing triumphs in all three of their previous matches. However, the Kiwi camp is keenly aware of the challenge posed by the determined Afghan side and is preparing accordingly.

As per the current points table, New Zealand holds the advantageous second position, while Afghanistan is placed sixth. Analyzing their head-to-head ODI record, New Zealand has emerged victorious in both of their encounters, leaving Afghanistan hungry for their first win. While this historical data tilts the scales in New Zealand’s favor, the recent triumph over England has undoubtedly bolstered Afghanistan’s spirits, making them a formidable force to reckon with.

The New Zealand ODI World Cup squad includes star players like Kane Williamson, Trent Boult, and Tim Southee, while Afghanistan’s lineup features talents such as Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, and Najibullah Zadran. With both sides boasting formidable talent, fans eagerly await what promises to be a thrilling showdown in Chennai.

New Zealand ODI World Cup Squad:

  • Kane Williamson
  • Trent Boult
  • Mark Chapman
  • Devon Conway
  • Lockie Ferguson
  • Matt Henry
  • Tom Latham
  • Daryl Mitchell
  • Jimmy Neesham
  • Glenn Phillips
  • Rachin Ravindra
  • Mitch Santner
  • Ish Sodhi
  • Tim Southee
  • Will Young

Afghanistan ODI World Cup Squad:

  • Hashmatullah Shahidi
  • Rahmanullah Gurbaz
  • Ibrahim Zadran
  • Riaz Hasan
  • Rahmat Shah
  • Najibullah Zadran
  • Mohammad Nabi
  • Ikram Alikhil
  • Azmatullah Umarzai
  • Rashid Khan
  • Mujeeb Ur Rehman
  • Noor Ahmed
  • Fazalhaq Farooqui
  • Abdul Rehman
  • Naveen Ul Haq
Big Stories, Sports, Top Tags:, , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.