DTI News

June 14, 2024
English हिन्दी

Watch Video: President Murmu Confers Honour to Anand Kumar and others with Padma Awards

NEW DELHI: On Wednesday, former Uttar Pradesh CM Mulayam Singh Yadav was posthumously conferred with the Padma Vibhushan, one of the highest civilian awards in India. The award was received by Mulayam’s son and Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav from President Droupadi Murmu. Narayana Murthy’s wife Sudha Murty received the Padma Bhushan for her social work, while music composer MM Keeravani and Super 30 founder Anand Kumar received the Padma Shri from the President.

MM Keeravani, Composer of Oscar-Winning Song, Receives Padma Shri

Music composer MM Keeravani, known for composing the Oscar-winning song ‘Naatu Naatu’, received the Padma Shri from President Murmu at the Civil Investiture Ceremony-I at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi. Keeravani has composed music for over 200 films in multiple languages and is one of the most sought-after composers in the Indian film industry.

Anand Kumar, Founder of Super 30, Receives Padma Shri

Anand Kumar, the founder of the Super 30 educational programme, received the Padma Shri from President Murmu. The Bollywood movie ‘Super 30’, starring Hrithik Roshan, is based on Anand Kumar’s life and his efforts to help underprivileged students crack the IIT-JEE exam. The Super 30 programme has been widely acclaimed for its success in helping students from economically weaker sections of society.

Actor Raveena Tandon Conferred with Padma Shri

Actor Raveena Tandon was among the 106 people who received Padma awards from President Murmu. Tandon has acted in over 90 Bollywood films and has won several awards for her performances. She has also been actively involved in social causes such as child rights and animal welfare.

President Murmu Confers Padma Awards 2023 at Rashtrapati Bhavan

President Droupadi Murmu presented Padma Awards 2023 at the Civil Investiture Ceremony-I held at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi. A total of 106 Padma awards, including three duo cases, were approved by the President on the eve of this year’s Republic Day. The Padma awards are conferred in three categories – Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri – to recognize exceptional contributions in various fields such as art, science, social work, and public service.

The Padma Awards – Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri – are among the country’s highest civilian awards. Instituted in 1954, these awards, announced on the occasion of the Republic Day every year, seek to recognize ‘work of distinction’ and are given for distinguished and exceptional achievements/service in all fields/disciplines, such as Art, Literature and Education, Sports, Medicine, Social Work, Science and Engineering, Public Affairs, Civil Service, Trade and Industry etc.

For this year, the President has approved the conferment of 106 Padma awards, including 3 duo cases (in a duo case, the award is counted as one). The list comprises 6 Padma Vibhushan, 9 Padma Bhushan and 91 Padma Shri Awards. As many as 19 of the awardees are women and the list also includes two persons from the category of foreigners.

Top, Big Stories, National, Sub Entertainment 2 Tags:, , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.