DTI News

June 12, 2024
English हिन्दी

These six countries, Including Saudi Arabia, UAE and Iran, join BRICS as PM Modi extends a warm welcome

New Delhi: In a ground-breaking development, the BRICS group has expanded its membership, welcoming six new countries into its fold. The inclusion of Argentina, Iran, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Ethiopia, and Egypt marks a significant milestone for the 17-year-old international alliance. The announcement was made by Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi during the BRICS conference, where he extended a warm welcome to the new member countries.

For nearly two decades, the BRICS alliance has consisted of Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa, collectively representing some of the world’s most powerful economies. This expansion, the first of its kind since the group’s inception, signals a broader commitment to fostering cooperation and dialogue among diverse nations.

The decision to admit these six countries comes after intense speculation leading up to the summit. Observers anticipated that this conference would likely pivot toward discussing the group’s expansion, as the global landscape continues to evolve. The addition of these nations not only amplifies the group’s economic influence but also reflects a commitment to addressing a broader spectrum of global challenges.

Prime Minister Modi’s announcement was met with applause as he expressed his enthusiasm for the new members, emphasizing the potential for enhanced collaboration and mutual growth. The inclusion of Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates, both economic powerhouses in the Middle East, is poised to reshape economic dynamics in the region.

The BRICS bloc has historically been recognized for its efforts to promote economic development, trade, and investment among its members. With the inclusion of nations from different continents, the group is expected to broaden its focus to encompass a wider range of global issues. The diversity of cultures, economies, and perspectives within the expanded BRICS alliance will undoubtedly present both opportunities and challenges for the participating countries.

The addition of Argentina, Iran, Ethiopia, and Egypt also underlines the organization’s commitment to representing a broader spectrum of global voices. Each of these nations brings a unique set of experiences and priorities to the table, potentially enriching the group’s discussions and strategies.

Top, Latest News, National, World Tags:, , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.