DTI News

April 13, 2024
English हिन्दी

AAP’s Shelly Oberoi becomes Delhi’s new Mayor after beats BJP by 34 votes

New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has declared victory in the Delhi Mayor election on Wednesday. Shelly Oberoi was elected as the new Mayor of Delhi.

Delhi Deputy Chief Minister twitted and wrote,  “The goons lost, the public won. Many congratulations to all the workers as AAP candidate has become the mayor in Municipal Corporation of Delhi. Once again whole hearted gratitude to the people of Delhi. Many many congratulations to the first Mayor”.

With Oberoi’s election, Presiding Officer Satya Sharma’s role will come to an end. The Mayor will preside over the remainder of the day’s meeting and conduct the elections to the office of the Deputy Mayor and of six members to the MCD’s standing committee.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) had fielded East Patel Nagar ward councillor Shelly Oberoi for the post, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had fielded Shalimar Bagh-B ward councillor Rekha Gupta.

BJP MPs Meenakshi Lekhi and Hans Raj Hans were among the firsts to cast their votes. Election to the posts of Mayor, Deputy Mayor and six members of the standing committee are being held.

National, Top Tags:,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.