DTI News

June 22, 2024
English हिन्दी

Women’s Asia Cup 2022: India beat Sri Lanka by eight wickets in final

Women’s Asia Cup 2022: India clinched their 7th trophy crown after beating Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in the final Women’s T20 Asia Cup tournament with 11.3 overs to spare.

In the final match of this tournament being played in Sylhet, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka could only score 65 runs in the first 20 overs at the loss of 9 wickets.

India registered victory by scoring 71 runs for the loss of 2 wickets in just 8.3 overs. For India, Smriti Mandhana scored the highest 51 runs while remaining unbeaten. Mandhana gave this victory to the team by hitting a six.

Captain Harmanpreet Kaur scored 11 not out. Shefali Verma contributed 5 and Jemima Rodrigues contributed 2 runs. Inoka Ranveera and Kavisha Dilhari took 1-1 wickets for Sri Lanka.

Brief Scores

Sri Lanka: 65 for 9 in 20 overs (Inoka Ranaweera 18 not out; Renuka Singh 3/5, Rajeshwari Gayakwad 2/16, Sneh Rana 2/13)

India: 71 for 2 in 9.3 overs (Smriti Mandhana 51 not out)

Shattered Sri Lanka’s innings

Earlier, Sri Lanka captain Chamari Atapattu won the toss and decided to bat first. However, Sri Lanka did not start well and both their openers were run out till the fourth over.

First, captain Chamari Atapattu was run out after scoring 6 runs for 8 runs in the third over.

After that Harshita Samarwickrama got out on the score of 9 runs. Another opener and wicketkeeper Anushka Sanjeevani was also run out on the same score after scoring 2 runs. On this score, Sri Lanka’s fourth wicket Hasini Perera was dismissed.

In this way, Sri Lanka lost a total of three wickets on the 9th run in the fourth over. After these initial setbacks, the Sri Lankan team could not recover and wickets kept falling continuously.

Oshadi Ranasinghe scored 13 runs for Sri Lanka, but apart from him, no other batsman could even touch the double figure. The condition of the Sri Lankan innings was that the team’s biggest partnership came for the last wicket, which was 22 runs.

Renuka Singh took three wickets for India, while Rajeshwari Gaikwad and Sneh Rana took two wickets each.

Sports, Latest News Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.