DTI News

June 23, 2024
English हिन्दी

Bihar Municipal Elections: First phase polling peaceful across 156 municipalities

60 percent people voted in 156 municipalities of 37 districts. In Rohtas, 61.29% polling was recorded, Nokha 60.09%, Dehri 48.94%, Kovath 59.38% and Nasriganj 58%.

Patna. Bihar Municipal Elections: As per the data, the first phase of civic elections in Bihar was completed peacefully without any bloodshed. For 156 municipalities of 37 districts of Bihar, 60 percent people voted from 7 am to 5 pm. In Rohtas, 61.29% polling, Nokha 60.09%, Dehri 48.94%, Kovath 59.38% and Nasriganj 58%. After the first phase of voting is over, the counting of votes will now take place on December 20. On the other hand, the second phase of municipal elections will be held on December 28 and the counting of votes will be done on December 30.

Death of the candidate by consent

Here in Muzaffarpur’s Baruraj Nagar panchayat, the election was postponed after the death of a candidate. Raj Kumar Ram who fought from ward number 9 died here. Later, the local residents informed the district administration about the matter. Voting for the remaining posts is here.

Peaceful voting in Bhagalpur

Polling was peaceful in all the booths of Darbhanga, there was commotion at polling station number seven of Kishanganj. Voters complained of confusion in the voter list here. Bhagalpur, Municipality In the first phase, the polling process started from 7 am amid tight security in five municipalities of Bhagalpur district, which ended at 5 pm. At this time polling started in Sultanganj Municipality, Navgachia Municipality and Municipalities. The polling process was completed with three EVMs for the first time in the three Nagar Panchayats Pirpainti, Akbarnagar and Kahal villages of the district.

Voters showed enthusiasm to elect representatives for 68 Municipal Councils and 88 Nagar Panchayats. Youth, women, elderly and disabled voters exercised their franchise. During this, the woman who reached to vote at the polling station of Ward No. 2 of Bhagwan Municipal Council died of a heart attack.

In Saharsa also, ward 12 resident 55 year old Mohd. Akhtar Hussain has died during voting. He had gone to vote at the Madrasa booth. During this, there was chaos at the polling station. A total of 144 people were arrested today. Rajgir DSP detained 4 suspects at Begumpur polling station of Nalanda Nagar Panchayat.

Top, Cities Latest Tags:,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.